7 architectural firms recognized for design

The American Institute of Architects (AIA), Central Oklahoma Chapter honored seven firms recently during its 2014-2015 AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards Program.

AIA Central Oklahoma received forty-three design award entries into this year’s competition.

Entrants were architects from the AIA Central Oklahoma Chapter, which covers primarily the western half of the state. The entered projects could be located anywhere in the world. Entrants were able to submit in six categories: commercial architecture, residential architecture, interiors, urban design, historic preservation/adaptive reuse and unbuilt.

“The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards program celebrates the best in architecture and urban design,” said Melissa Hunt, executive director of AIA’s Central Oklahoma Chapter. “We are excited to showcase this exceptional architecture and design from our local Oklahoma architects.”

The jury for the 2014 Design Awards met in Indianapolis, Indiana, to select this year’s winners. The jury was made up of three award-winning Indianapolis architects: William Browne, FAIA of Ratio Architects; Donna Sink, AIA of Indianapolis Museum of Art and John Albrecht, AIA of DkGr.

The awards banquet was held at the Skirvin Hotel and jury chairman William Browne of FAIA was on-hand to assist AIA Central Oklahoma President-Elect Geoffrey Parks of AIA of Studio Architecture present winners of the 2014-2015 AIA Central Oklahoma Design Awards competition.

The following firms and projects were honored:

Silvr (Provided)

Silvr (Provided)

Butzer Gardner Architects received the evening’s highest honor with an honor award for Slivr in the commercial architecture category. Also in the commercial architecture category, Studio Architecture was awarded a merit award for the OSU Sherman E. Smith Training Center. The third award in commercial architecture, a merit award was given to Mass Architects for the Davis Field Regional Airport Terminal.

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris was honored with a merit award in residential architecture for Lake Texoma Dockominium.

In the interiors category, Elliott + Associates Architects was awarded a merit award for the OSU Postal Plaza Gallery.

430 Lofts (© Joseph Mills Photography )

430 Lofts (© Joseph Mills Photography )

There two awards given in the adaptive reuse category, a merit award to Fitzsimmons Architects for 430 Lofts and a merit award to Elliott + Associates Architects for Lingo Construction Services.

Senate Assembly Room (Provided)

Senate Assembly Room (Provided)

MA+ Architecture received a merit award for historic preservation for the Senate Assembly Room.

In the unbuilt category, Elliott + Associates received a citation award for their RJ Marfa project.

In addition to the projects awarded by the jury, AIA Central Oklahoma hosted a People’s Choice competition. The People’s Choice Award provided the community the opportunity to vote for their favorite design project. There were more than 5,600 votes received.

The People’s Choice Award winners were: Troy D. Rhodes & Company for Southern Nazarene University Science Building, Allford Hall Monaghan Morris for Lake Texoma Dockominium, Rees Associates for KD’s Southern Cuisine, MA+ Architecture for Senate Assembly Room and TAP architecture for Moore Central Park.


— Media release edited by Jennifer Chancellor

Related posts